Confederation of South Carolina
Local Historical Societies

In the early 1960s, South Carolina realized it had a pleasant kind of challenge to meet. All over the state, almost 100 enthusiastic organizations existed to encourage the study of "nearby history." They included roundtables and study circles; museum and preservation commissions; local research, archival and genealogical societies; and various combinations thereof. How could everyone work together at the state level to promote the study and preservation of our rich community histories?


An important part of the answer to that question was the creation of the Confederation of South Carolina Local Historical Societies. On April 4, 1964, representatives of fourteen historical societies met at Batesburg-Leesville and officially organized the Confederation of South Carolina Local Historical Societies. The Lexington County Historical Society sponsored the meeting, and Dr. Charles E. Lee, then director of the South Carolina Department of Archives and History, supported its creation. The Confederation’s first annual “Landmark Conference” was held in 1965 in Hilton Head and Savannah, with the South Carolina Federation of Women’s Clubs and the National Trust for Historic Preservation as co-sponsors.

The Confederation's mission is to encourage and strengthen local organizations involved in the preservation and study of historical documents, sites, buildings, and artifacts through the exchange of information and cooperative activities. Today, the Confederation has about fifty member organizations. Members include historical societies, commissions, foundations, preservation groups, museums, archives, and patriotic organizations. The Confederation is governed by an executive council, made up of statewide officers and regional representatives from ten county clusters or districts.


We are looking forward to the 2016 Landmark Conference in Beaufort County,
Wednesday, March 23 through Friday, March 25!
Conference Schedule and Registration (PDF)


What the Confederation Does for You and South Carolina


Awards and Recognition 

An annual Confederation awards program recognizes historical organizations for outstanding achievements in local history. The Confederation also sponsors several awards for individuals including the Alexander S. Salley Professional Service Award, the Robert N. Pryor Volunteer Service Award, and the Margaret Watson Award for an outstanding research paper on South Carolina history written by an undergraduate student at one of South Carolina's colleges.

2015 Awards Winners (PDF)
2014 Awards Winners (PDF)
2013 Awards Winners (PDF)
2012 Awards Winners (PDF)
2011 Awards Winners (PDF)

Confederation Awards Criteria (PDF)
Awards Nomination Form (PDF)
Margaret Watson Undergraduate History Award Criteria (PDF)

Margaret Watson Undergraduate History Award Winners:
2011, “The Orangeburg Massacre,” by Amy Pulaski (PDF)
2012, “United Ministries’ Changing Methods of Compassion,” by Tim Anglea (PDF)
2013, "Andrew Jackson - Sinner or Savior," by Christine Rice (PDF)


The Confederation offers educational programs with topics of interest to local historical organizations and opportunities to come together with people from similar organizations around the state to share ideas and experiences. The Confederation also assists the Department of Archives and History in maintaining the Directory of South Carolina's Local History, Historic Preservation, and Cultural Organizations (PDF).



The Confederation educates the South Carolina General Assembly about issues of interest to local historical organizations. For example, the Confederation recently advocated the approval of state tax incentives for historic preservation projects and funding to allow the Research Room at the Department of Archives and History to open on Saturdays.


South Carolina Hall of Fame 

The Confederation is the official nominating body for the South Carolina Hall of Fame. Each year member organizations of the Confederation submit names of candidates to the Confederation's Executive Council, which selects ten nominees for each of the two categories---contemporary and deceased. The list of nominees is sent to the Hall of Fame's Board of Trustees, which elects one inductee from each category. For more information about the South Carolina Hall of Fame and previous inductees visit the Hall of Fame's website.

Hall of Fame Nomination Form (PDF)

Membership in the Confederation is open to all historical, genealogical, cultural and heritage organizations based in South Carolina, both non-profit and for-profit. Membership dues are based on organization size and are currently $30 per annum for organizations with less than 100 members, and $50 per annum for organizations with 100 or more members.

Membership Application and Renewal Form (PDF)

Confederation Constitution (PDF)


          Confederation of South Carolina Local Historical Societies

           Officers and Members of the Executive Council



Mr. J.R. Fennell

Director Lexington County Museum

P.O. Box 637

Lexington, SC 29071

(803) 359-8369


Mr. Bob Barrett
3903 W. Eagle Street
Florence, SC 29501
(843) 617-0050 (c)



Ms. Gina White

Winthrop University
145 Saluda Street

Chester, SC 29706

(803) 581-2452 (h)

(803) 323-2334 (w)



Ms. Becky Slayton

728 Gatewood Drive
Roebuck, SC 29376
(864) 431-1571


Mr. Mike Scoggins

Historic Brattonsville

212 East Jefferson Street

York, SC 29745

(803) 684-3948


Council Members:

District 1: Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens, and Spartanburg Counties

Ms. Anne Sheriff

988 Old Shirley Road

Central, SC 29630

(864) 888-7387


District 2: Abbeville, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick, Saluda, and Edgefield Counties

Ms. Meade Hendrix

Saluda County Historical Society

116 Sardis Road

Saluda, SC 29139

(864) 445-2686 (w)

(864) 445-8410 (h)


District 3: Chester, Lancaster, Union, and York Counties

Ms. Ann Evans
The Springs Close Family Archives
P.O. Box 2091
Fort Mill, SC 29716
(803) 547-4557

District 4: Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry, and Richland Counties
Mr. Ben Hornsby
1801 N. Beltline Boulevard
Columbia, SC 29206
(803) 673-2299 (c)
(803) 782-6404 (h)


District 5: Aiken, Allendale, Calhoun, Bamberg, Barnwell, and Orangeburg Counties

Ms. Brenda Baratto

Aiken County Historical Museum

805 River Bluff Road

North Augusta, SC  29803

(803) 613-1178 (h)
(803) 270-9400 (c)


District 6: Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee, and Sumter Counties
Ms. Annie Rivers
122 N. Washington Street
Sumter, SC 29150

(919) 600-4620


District 7: Chesterfield, Dillon, Darlington, Florence, Marlboro, and Marion Counties

Mr. Randy McAllister
3902 Cherry Johnson Road
Effingham, SC 29541
(843) 662-5317

District 8: Georgetown, Horry, and Williamsburg Counties

Mr. Walter Hill
Horry County Museum
805 Main Street
Conway, SC 29526
(843) 915-5320


District 9: Berkeley, Charleston, and Dorchester Counties

Ms. Ginny Zemp

South Carolina Historical Society
The Fireproof Building, 100 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401

(843) 723-3225, ext. 22

District 10: Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper Counties

Ms. Sherry Cawley
Walterboro Historic Preservation Commission
116 Charles Street
Walterboro, SC 29488
(843) 549-5757 (h)
(843) 908-0746 (c)
(843) 549-3317 (Fax)

The Confederation of South Carolina Local Historical Societies encourages South Carolinians to use our rich history in an inclusive way to build goodwill and better communities. We urge your organization:
"Don't just celebrate the past---use it."